🔍 Read the full analysis: What Changed In Each Chainalysis Breach Update? on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get business pricing on office and shipping supplies
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
TL;DR
Chainalysis’ October 30 notice said an attacker accessed user profile information, with no evidence then of access to credentials or session tokens. On November 4, the company said password hashes and live tokens for all users had been exposed; some KYT accounts appear to have been accessed without authorization. The scope, token details and attacker’s identity remain undisclosed.
In its October 30 notice, Chainalysis said accessed information included user IDs, full names, email addresses and organization role labels. It described the data as “non-sensitive” and said it had found “no evidence of unauthorized access to investigation content, authentication credentials, or session tokens.” The company said the attacker had gained unauthorized access to its systems and internal tools during October.
That account changed on November 4 at 11 p.m. Eastern. Chainalysis said it had discovered on November 2 that names, usernames, password hashes and live tokens for all users were exposed to a malicious actor. The company said it was directly notifying customers whose KYT accounts appeared to have been accessed without authorization. It has not published a count of affected accounts or users.
The service response unfolded alongside the revised disclosure. On November 2, Chainalysis took its Reactor investigations software and Data Solutions offline as a precaution. On November 4, after reporting “abnormal activity,” it also took its KYT transaction-monitoring interface and API, other address-screening products and its login page offline. KYT and Address Screening began returning in phases on November 6, with customers asked to provide trusted IP addresses for an allowlist. Reactor and Data Solutions were still being restored, according to the company’s update.
Infographic 01 · How the story changed
From “non-sensitive data” to every user’s password hash
Every dated entry in Chainalysis’ own incident post, in order. The highlighted entry reverses the first one.
From “no evidence of unauthorized access to authentication credentials or session tokens” (30 Oct) to “password hashes and live tokens for all Chainalysis users” (4 Nov).
The disclosure, in numbers
Chainalysis incident post, US Eastern time
- 6 dated updates in one post, 30 Oct to 6 Nov 2026
- 2 days between Monday’s discovery and Wednesday night’s disclosure
- 40 minutes between the on-path email (9:50 AM) and KYT going offline (10:30 AM)
- 1,500+ customers in 70+ countries, by the company’s own count
- OctoberBreach detected“an external actor using offensive agentic techniques” in Chainalysis systems and internal tools
- Fri 30 OctFirst notice (~5:14 PM)User IDs, full names, emails, role labels accessed. “No evidence” of access to credentials or session tokens
- Mon 2 NovReactor + Data Solutions offline“Out of an abundance of caution”. All-users exposure discovered this day, disclosed later
- Wed 4 Nov, 9:50 AMOn-path attack“A subset of customer passwords” exposed; accounts locked, reset required
- Wed 4 Nov, 10:30 AMKYT + login page offline“Abnormal activity”; password reset “won’t be possible right now”
- Wed 4 Nov, 11:00 PMAll users“Names, usernames, password hashes and live tokens for all Chainalysis users were exposed”
- Fri 6 Nov, 3:30 AMPhased restoreKYT + Address Screening behind an IP allowlist; every user resets passwords and rotates API keys
Sources: Chainalysis incident post, 30 Oct to 6 Nov 2026 · Chainalysis company page · BleepingComputer, 31 Oct 2026 (time of the first post). No attribution: no attacker has been named.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI
A Wider Exposure Than First Reported
The change matters because password hashes and live tokens are authentication-related data, unlike the profile details emphasized in the first notice. Their exposure can raise risks for account access and targeted attempts to deceive customers, although the company has not explained what its “live tokens” are or reported that every account was used by the attacker.
Service interruptions also affect customers that rely on Chainalysis tools for blockchain investigations, transaction monitoring and address screening. The company said it kept compliance transaction-monitoring products running during the initial November 2 shutdown because of their role in detecting money laundering; those products were later taken offline after abnormal activity. The duration and business effects of the outages have not been fully detailed.
The disclosure sequence is relevant to customers deciding how to respond. On October 30, Chainalysis said there was no evidence of credential or token access; by November 4, it said hashes and tokens for all users had been exposed. That shift does not, by itself, establish why the initial assessment differed or whether all exposed data was usable.
Products Worth Considering

Logitech MX Keys Combo for Business Keyboard and Mouse – Graphite

Dell XPS 13 9345 Laptop, 13.4-Inch FHD+ 120Hz, Snapdragon X Elite, 32GB RAM, 1TB SSD

Apple MacBook Air 15-inch Laptop with M5 Chip, 16GB Memory, 512GB SSD, Sky Blue
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
From Initial Notice to Restoration
The company’s incident post records a sequence of updates over less than a week. Chainalysis first publicly described the incident on October 30. On November 2, it took Reactor and Data Solutions offline while responding to what it called ongoing cyber threats. On November 4, it sent some customers an earlier warning about a subset of passwords, then removed additional services after abnormal activity.
In the November 4 morning email, Chainalysis described an “on-path attack” that had exposed a subset of customer passwords, said the route had been contained and remediated, and asked affected users to reset passwords. Later that day, the broader notice reported exposure of hashes and live tokens for all users. The company’s November 6 update said KYT and Address Screening were returning in phases, subject to customer IP allowlisting, password resets and applicable API-key rotation.
Chainalysis says it serves government agencies, exchanges, financial institutions and cybersecurity companies in more than 70 countries. Its products are used to trace cryptocurrency transactions and support investigations and compliance work. This makes the service availability and account-security response relevant to a wide range of institutional customers, not only individual users.
Key Technical Details Remain Unknown
Chainalysis has not disclosed the password-hashing algorithm, whether the exposed hashes could be used to recover passwords, or what “live tokens” refers to and whether those tokens remained valid. It also has not provided the number of users or accounts involved, a complete account of accessed systems, or a public identification of the attacker.
The company described the intrusion as involving “offensive agentic techniques” but has not explained what that phrase means or published technical evidence supporting it. Its notice also does not fully explain how the October 30 finding of no evidence of credential or token access relates to the November 4 disclosure. These points remain unanswered in the supplied incident updates.
Chainalysis said some KYT accounts appear to have been accessed without authorization, but it has not stated how many, what activity occurred in those accounts, or whether the same applies to other products. The company also has not given a full timetable for restoring Reactor and Data Solutions.
Customer Resets and Service Recovery
Chainalysis’ November 6 instructions require users of returning KYT and Address Screening services to provide trusted IP addresses for allowlisting. The company said all users must reset passwords and rotate API keys where applicable before registering transactions. Customers should use a login page they already know rather than links in unexpected messages, change passwords reused on other services, and be alert to phishing that uses their names or organization roles.
The next developments to watch are whether Chainalysis restores Reactor and Data Solutions, provides more technical detail about the exposed hashes and tokens, and reports the scope of unauthorized KYT access. The company’s incident post is the stated source for these updates; a fuller account of the investigation and remediation has not yet been provided in the material available.
Key Questions
What changed between Chainalysis’ October 30 and November 4 updates?
The October 30 notice listed user IDs, names, email addresses and organization role labels, and said there was no evidence of access to credentials or session tokens. On November 4, Chainalysis said names, usernames, password hashes and live tokens for all users had been exposed to a malicious actor.
Were all Chainalysis accounts accessed by the attacker?
No such finding has been announced. Chainalysis said information for all users was exposed, while stating that some KYT accounts appear to have been accessed without authorization. It has not said how many accounts were accessed.
Which Chainalysis services were taken offline?
Reactor and Data Solutions were taken offline on November 2. On November 4, Chainalysis also took KYT, other address-screening products and the login page offline after reporting abnormal activity. KYT and Address Screening began returning in phases on November 6; Reactor and Data Solutions were still being restored in the latest update provided.
What should Chainalysis users do?
Follow Chainalysis’ reset and API-key rotation instructions, use a trusted login page, and change any password reused elsewhere. The company also told customers returning to KYT and Address Screening to provide trusted IP addresses for allowlisting. Users should be alert to phishing messages that use personal or workplace details.
What is still unknown about the breach?
The company has not disclosed the password-hashing algorithm, explained what “live tokens” means, given a count of affected users or accounts, named an attacker, or fully described the unauthorized KYT activity. It has also not given a complete restoration schedule for all affected services.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
